When my closest girlfriend and soul sister asked me to say something at her wedding I was instantly nervous. I am a crier. I cried when I got up that morning, I cried when she got her make-up done, I cried when I saw her in the dress, I cried (and made other people cry) in the church, I cried right through all the speeches (but hey, so did the groom! They are two very loved people, the speeches reflected this.) and I cried every time she looked at me. There are no photos of me giving my speech, I cringe when I think of the video, I sobbed. I did not speak, I sniffed and snorted and squealed. It took me days to write the speech and I toiled, and teared and borrowed and stole here and there until I got exactly what I felt written down. This was what I meant to say:

Today you create something beautiful and from here you can go anywhere. You begin your journey together serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered by old nonsense. Some blunders and absurdities will creep in but try your best to forget them as soon as you can. I am not young enough to know everything nor am I old enough to speak from wisdom, I do however know this for sure:

Always speak the truth, even if your voice shakes. Grow your roots toward each other underground so that when all the pretty blossoms fall; you will find that you are one tree and not two. Be to each other what pajamas are to the soul.

From Jaco I ask: Be mindful with my best friend’s heart; Find the anecdote to your anger hidden in her laughter; Smile when she makes you happy, and let her know you miss her when she’s not there; Recognize her glowing spirit and preserve it as best you can.

To my dearest friend: I am so proud of you. Not so long ago we were still giggling girls in math class, being scolded for our day dreams. Now I witness you making from the lumber of your life; not a tavern but a temple. Looking at you now, your beauty astounds me. You are going to bless your family with this beauty you walk in everyday.
You are an inspiration, I am honored to stand by your side.

They are such beautiful people and I feel so blessed to call them friends. Your day was breath taking and I can’t wait to post some baby pictures!

