I delight in well executed animated films. And in times of heart break or illness I rely on a specific collection to ease my troubles. Studio Ghibli is a Japanese animation studio that tells magical tales from the East and West. Their style is innocent, playful and visually rich. The films include famous voices such as Christian Bale and Billy Crystal (in Howl’s Moving Castle) and boasts many awards and nominations.

If you’re having a bad day and need a little adventure and a lot of magic, I personally promise these films will deliver:
Howl’s Moving Castle
Spirited Away
Princess Mononoke
The Castle in the Sky (Laputa)
My Neighbour Totoro
Tales from Earthsea
Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind

Other films by Studio Ghibli that I haven’t seen yet:
Grave of Fireflies
Kiki’s Delivery Service
Only Yesterday
Porco Rosso
Ocean Waves
Pom Roko
Whisper of the Heart
My Neighbours the Yamadas
The Cat Return

