I’ve wanted to write this post for so long, but the subject matter is so close to my heart I didn’t know how to do it justice. Writing about something that changed your life in such a personal way always sounds a bit like you’re advertising or testifying. I want to say things like: “DUDE….reaaallly, really!!!” And there really is no way to express in type how something touched you.

There is a film that changed my world view, it calmed the urgency of my questions about life and answered quite a few. One is a film made by people who had never made a movie before and this alone impressed me. One man had an idea and it grew to reach an audience that even includes me all the way in Africa!

In the movie they present a wide range of spiritual leaders and some normal folk with 20 questions such as: why is there suffering in the world, what is the meaning of life and what happens after you die? Christians, Buddhists and even atheists respond and the film makers make no judgement, they simply present the answers.

After watching it I felt very light and more to the point, enlightened. A Sufi mystic in the film says that what we are all so afraid of is only the simple process of life, and this especially struck me. The mystic goes on to explain why living in the present is so important, and although everyone says it and some even preach it, this was the first time it really hit home for me and I fully understood the concept.

I purchased the DVD within weeks, this was more than a year ago and I’m still showing it to anyone willing to sit down long enough. I strongly urge you; reader, stranger, friend, seeker, leader, adventurer, couch potato, who ever you are, to take the time to converse with this documentary. And I mean converse with it, be brave and enter into a dialectical debate with your beliefs.
If nothing else you will come out the other end at least refreshed and a little wiser.

