It took me a long time to write this post, because I get so emotional just remembering… My best friend got married on the 2nd of April. “Best friend” is a bit of an understatement, “soul sister” is the correct term. We are both only children and life blessed us with each other. I longed for a sibling my entire life, many early birthdays were spent explaining to me that wishing on candles couldn’t make it so. When I transferred to a local high school from boarding school we didn’t get along at first but we soon discovered a mutual love for gossip. *giggles* We started to write each other letters and soon we were inseparable.

I was so honored when she chose me to be one of her bridesmaids, that I could be a part of her special day. Together with the other two crazy maids we planned a fabulous bachelorette and we made sure Mariska enjoyed her last single days.

The venue they chose (Avianto) was incredibly romantic, and we spent the night before and the night after at this magical place:

She gave me the choice to see her dress but I chose to keep it a surprise until that day. Which wasn’t the best idea, I started crying when I saw it, and did not stop until I got in to bed that night. The dress weighed more than 10 kg!

It took four of us to dress her.

The make up artist was incredible! As soon as I find out who she is I’m linking to her. She studied fine arts at my university and she was there for Mariska (a total stranger to her) when neither of us could be. And of course her work was amazing!

Mariska asked me to design her ring, and I tried, but I soon realized I wasn’t nearly equipped for the project. Luckily I know people who know people (thanx dad!) and I arranged a day at an excellent jeweler where she picked her own diamond and specified her own setting and design. She also had a ring made for her husband to be.

She made such a pretty bride, I kept thinking, “Wow, this looks like a Vogue shoot”.

I hate to do this but you’ll have to wait until tomorrow to see the rest…

